Fly Me To The Moon…

I have discovered my new favorite genre. Well, discovered is a strong term. As is genre. It is more that I recognized a pattern that I really like. The one thing the is problematic with this pattern is that is naturally rather finite. But ah well, let’s get back to the point.

I really enjoyed the last few books I read, Clarke’s A Fall Of Moondust, and Heinlein’s The Man Who Sold The Moon – big shocker there we all know how much I love Heinlein. I really liked the portrayal of the moon and technology, especially in how outdated the tech is, and then I realized something. Most of my favorite moon stories were written before 1969.

I forget sometimes that I am part of the first few generations that was born after the moon landing. I have always been fascinated by the moon, and I forget that the authors I love who share that passion were writing in an age before it seemed possible to land a man on the moon. I forget that they are envisioning what is, at the time, the impossible. I think this needs to be kept in mind when reading these books. It is easy to forget the context they were written in, but it adds so much to our readings of them. I think that is just one of the things I like so much about classic scifi.

(These aren’t the only books I’ve read in this category, The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress is one of my all time favorites that I read a few years back among others.)

I guess there isn’t much of a point to this post. Just getting back into the swing of blogging. Conveniently ignoring the almost year hiatus since my last post…

But now I am on a quest to find more pre-Apollo 11 stories about the moon.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

