Doctor Who & The Importance of Being Silly

Something I’ve noticed, both around the internet and IRL, that there seems to be a trend of people hating on new Doctor Who. Now I don’t mean the reboot in general, I mean the newest season. They complain about it being ridiculous and having plot-holes and such. But you know what? I don’t have a problem with any of that at all.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love quality science fiction. Moon, Star Trek 11, the first couple seasons of Battlestar Galactica are all on my favorites list. That being said, you know what else is on there? Sharktopus, Eureka, Farscape, Plan 9 From Outer Space etc. Why? Because they are fun, ’nuff said.

Granted I am a bit biased, as I have a HUGE soft spot in my heart for b science fiction and horror movies. And Syfy original movies. 

I will ask a lot from my movies and TV if they are meant to be serious. But if not, or if they are bad enough to make it a non-issue, I will enjoy them simply as they are. Which is why I don’t have a problem with the newest season of Doctor Who. It is simply just fun, and it doesn’t need to be anything else. As long as I have a good time while watching it, I don’t care why I am. Dinosaurs on a Spaceship? That s**t is just ridiculous enough to be one of the most perfect episodes with Matt Smith.

Not only do I not mind silly science fiction, but I think it is required. Science fiction can be so big, that occasionally there needs to be something to be a little self-aware and poke fun at the genre. That is why Galaxy Quest and Spaceballs (and Redshirts) are so amazing. This is not to say that all silly science fiction is parody, which is proved by Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. But the point still stands. Part of the perfection of the genre is that you get huge space epics which are powerful and awe-inspiring  but there are also the campy and ridiculous romps which remind us why we love the genre in the first place. The worlds, or the characters, or the gadgets, or whatever.

Do I want to live in a world without Blade Runner? Hell no. But that world better also have Dinocroc vs. Supergator.

So internet, what are some of you favorite silly/bad/ridiculous scifi movies?

Tags: , ,

One response to “Doctor Who & The Importance of Being Silly”

  1. Julie says :

    Agree and disagree. I think there are lots of legitimate reasons to criticize the last couple of seasons of DW and the most recent season especially, because there’s a difference between being silly but well done and being simply poorly written and trying to make up for it through comedy.

    The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is a great example of this. It’s one of my favorite books, although it’s basically half finished and the story doesn’t really follow a proper narrative arc of any kind. It is forgiven for this, though, mainly because it’s so exquisitely executed. The ideas it expresses are so wonderful, and so wonderfully expressed, that the actual plot is kind of secondary. Whereas in a show like Doctor Who, which has been very plot-driven (at least in the past few years), the few jokes that are included haven’t really made up for a series of lackluster plots.

    So I think the difference here is plot driven vs. joke driven –
    it’s totally OK for something to be joke driven, and for the plot to be secondary, but jokes alone will not save a plot-driven show that is struggling.

    Does that make any sense?

    Also if you’re looking for good comedy sci-fi, definitely check out Red Dwarf. It’s a very cheesy but extremely loveable sci-fi sitcom which ran on the beeb for 8 seasons from the late 80’s to the late 90’s and has recently been revived for a set of specials and a new season. It also has, IMHO, one of the best outro songs ever. I’m pretty sure everything but the most recent season is on netflix 🙂

Leave a Reply

